07 June 2020


Vigilante President


Ram Nath Kovind, 14th President of India, rose to the August Office with humble beginnings. After his elementary school education, he had to walk every day to Khanpur village, 8 km away to attend junior school, as nobody in the village had a bicycle. He is a B.Com  and LLB from DAV College, Kanpur University.  He was Central Government Advocate in the Delhi High Court from 1977 to 1979. Between 1977-1978, he was personal assistant to then PM Morarji Desai. In 1978, he became Advocate-on-Record, Supreme Court, where he was Central Government Standing Counsel between 1980-1993. He provided free legal aid under aegis of Free Legal Aid Society. His appointment as Bihar Governor was criticized by CM Nitish Kumar, who subsequently praised him for constituting a judicial commission to investigate irregularities in promotion of undeserving teachers, mismanagement of funds. Ironically, Nitish Kumar backed Kovind's choice as President, for being unbiased during his Bihar Governorship.



Sushasan Babu


Nitish Kumar Chief Minister of Bihar, earlier served as CM of from 2005 to 2014 and from 2015 to 2017. He was briefly, Union Minister for Railways and Minister for Surface Transport, and later  Agriculture Minister (1998–99), in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s NDA Government. During his short stint as Railway Minister, he implemented widespread reforms like internet ticket booking facility and opening a record number of railway ticket booking counters and introducing the Tatkal scheme for instant booking. He belongs to the Janata Dal (United) political party.

Popularly known as Sushasan Babu (Mr. Good Governance), he is an electrical engineering from Bihar College of Engineering, (now NIT Patna) in 1972, and later joined the Bihar State Electricity Board, half-heartedly, and later moved into politics. An adherent of Socialist ideology, his political Gurus were stalwarts Jayaprakash Narayan, Ram Manohar Lohia, S. N. Sinha, Karpuri Thakur, and V. P. Singh.


Leave a Comment

Email Address
(will not be published)